Apartment rent, e-government — step by step manual for your smooth adaptation in Estonia

Alina Kutlugalina
3 min readApr 6, 2021

--

Hello everyone!

For consistency, in the previous series:

  1. Job Abroad seeking process
  2. My pandemic relocation from SPb to Tallinn

Relocation is not the easiest process, especially when it comes to changing the country.

What do you need to plan before a relocation?

✅ Documents (D type work visa and / or Residence Permit = ID card) + printed contract

✅ Accommodation reservation (temporary / permanent).

I couldn’t have done it without useful sites such as kv.ee, city24.ee

👉 Relocation with pets

If you have a cat/dog, get ready your pet even earlier than yourself, you will need at least a month for chips, vaccinations and passports!

It’s not so strict, but hardly recommended by migration agencies and embassies due to the pandemic:

✅ To reach an agreement with the employer to meet upon arrival in Estonia (bus station/airport, etc.)

Thanks to Yulia for her heroic early awakening and our 6 a.m. Rendez-Vous at Tallinna bussijaam. On the bus, I met a developer who had not been provided with logistics from the employer side.

✅ To book a visit to a laboratory for a PCR test on the 1st day of arrival in Estonia.

I passed it free of charge at the airport and cancelled the appointment at the laboratory.

What would you need to solve on the spot in the first two months?

✅ Home Internet and telecommunication provider choice

✅ Mobile-ID connection for digital signing of documents

✅ Banks comparison, Estonian account opening

✅ Registration at the residency address

✅ Family doctor search and reaching out

If you have only a D visa in your hands so far, and you are waiting for an answer/decision on the Residence permit (ID), if you have Isikukood (personal resident code, I got it in the process of D visa documents gathering), you can still solve at least a half of main questions..

I received my ID card on January 15th, on the same day I got a “free of charge transport usage (Tallinn, Harjumaa)” — validator (card) and then I did everything by my plan 1,2,3 (residency address registration, doctor search, etc).

Optional:

✅ Registration at the Russian Consulate in Estonia. There are a lot of discussion about this, so tough disputes. It is not officially required, but I decided to apply digitally and rather fast got a response.

What else would you need to do during the first six months of living in Estonia?

👉 Tax residency registration. Someone prefers to send an application earlier, someone contacts the tax department later. By the way, I have not yet done it.

❤️ Thanks to the Estonian e-government! It helps to save our time. It cares about our health❤️

The only place where I’ve been physical — Rahvatikuregister. And that happened just because my landlord had managed to prepare applications by hand and did not know when he could digitally confirm the request from the Rahvatikuregister.

And when all these issues were resolved, I could exhale and I began to pay attention to everything, everything that was happening around me, to see the details.

I would like to make a step by step instruction here for people who would like to relocate to Estonia ;)

❓If you need more details about some aspects, can you please drop a line what I should write about the next time❓

Thanks!

--

--

Alina Kutlugalina

🧑‍💻IT Recruiter “IT Talent Estonia.” 🌍 Relocation Advisor with Yulia Emigrantista. ☄️ Move smoothly to Estonia 🇪🇪 with my help!